Black Caucus members divided on bailout bill and those who voted for should be voted out of office

By Sinclere Lee

t’s good to know what members of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) voted for the bailout of the Fat Cats on Wall Street and who had the guts to stand with the people of America.

With the Black economy never taking hold, since after slaver … and white America having everything and Blacks nothing, how dare a Black vote for a bailout for Wall Street,when the streets in Black communities have gone to crap. It speaks volumes for any Black members of the Black Caucus who vote for this mess, and even worse for the Blacks who would continue to keep these fools in office.

Members of the Congressional Black Caucus were divided on the proposed $700 billion bailout plan that failed in Congress Monday afternoon. A slight majority of CBC members voted against the plan, while a significant number voted in favor of the bailout.

In total, 21 members of the CBC opposed the bailout while 18 members supported it. The bill, called the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008, failed 228 to 205 in the House of Representatives on Monday. Black Caucus members were divided on bailout bill, and those who voted for should be voted out of office

Rep. Jesse Jackson called the bill "a tremendous improvement over the legislation proposed by the Bush Administration last week," but he voted against it because he said "it still falls short of what is needed to shore up the economy, protect taxpayers and promote economic growth."

"We have gone from Roosevelt's New Deal, to Reagan's Raw Deal, to Bush's Quick Deal," Jackson said in a statement. He said the American People are demanding a "fair deal."

The Illinois Democrat urged Congress to pass a modified bill that includes a new stimulus, a substantial investment in infrastructure and a program that helps keep taxpayers in their homes.

Of the 42 members of the Congressional Black Caucus, 39 are eligible to vote in the House of Representatives. Two members — Donna Christian-Christensen (USVI) and Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC) — are delegates and cannot vote. The 42nd member is Barack Obama, a member of the U.S. Senate, which is expected to take up the bill later this week.

CBC members voting
against the bailout plan (21): G.K. Butterfield, Andre Carson (IN), William Clay (MO), Emanuel Cleaver (MO), John Conyers (MI), Elijah Cummings (MD), Donna Edwards (MD), Al Green, Jesse Jackson Jr. (IL), Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX), William Jefferson (LA), Hank Johnson (GA), Carolyn Kilpatrick (MI), Barbara Lee (CA), John Lewis (GA), Donald Payne (NJ), Bobby Rush (IL), David Scott (GA), Robert Scott (VA), Bennie Thompson and Diane Watson (CA).

CBC members voting
for the bailout plan (18): Sanford Bishop (GA), Corrine Brown (FL), Yvette Clark (NY), James Clyburn (SC), Artur Davis (AL), Danny Davis (IL), Keith Ellison (MN), Chaka Fattah (PA), Alcee Hastings (FL), Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX), Kendrick Meek (FL), Gregory Meeks (NY), Gwendolynne Moore (WI), Charles Rangel (NY), Laura Richardson (CA), Edolphus Towns (NY), Maxine Waters (CA) and Mel Watt (NC).

Back to home page